PupGrade vs Pup Labs vs Zesty Paws: What Each Label Actually Tells You
Three popular joint supplements, side by side โ not on marketing claims, but on the one thing that decides whether you can compare them at all: how many milligrams they disclose.
The short version
Two of these three brands publish every active ingredient amount. One publishes none at all. And one of the three has a discrepancy on its own website that changes the dose by a factor of two.
There is also a split most comparisons miss: some of these formulas lead with glucosamine, the cheapest joint active, and go light on chondroitin, the most expensive one. Both numbers are on the labels.
The comparison at a glance
| Product | Serving | Glucosamine | Chondroitin | Ratio | Every amount published? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PupGrade Joint Support 60 chews ยท $34.95 | 1 chew per 25 lbs | 500 mg per chew (retail panel) 1,000 mg (brand site) | 150 mg per chew (retail panel) 300 mg (brand site) | 3.3 : 1 | Yes โ but see the flag below |
| Pup Labs Freedom Joint Chews 30 chews ยท $49.00 | 1โ4 chews by weight | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | โ | No โ no milligram amounts published for any ingredient |
| Pup Labs Freedom Joint Drops 30 ml ยท $59.00 | ยฝโ2 droppers by weight | Contains no glucosamine | Contains no chondroitin | โ | No โ no milligram amounts published |
| Zesty Paws Vet Strength 90 chews ยท $49.97 | 1โ3 chews by weight | 1,200 mg per 2 chews | 200 mg per 2 chews | 6 : 1 | Yes โ all six actives itemized |
| Zesty Paws Mobility Bites (regular) 90 chews ยท $32.97 | 1โ3 chews by weight | Inside a proprietary blend | Inside a proprietary blend | โ | No โ 1,510 mg blend total only, four actives share it |
| AdvancedPUP 7-in-1 90 chews ยท $34.98 | 2โ5 chews by weight | 300 mg per 2 chews | 200 mg per 2 chews | 1.5 : 1 | Yes โ all seven actives itemized |
Amounts as published by each brand and its retail listings, checked September 2026. Prices change; check before you buy. AdvancedPUP is our own product โ the section near the bottom sets out where we lead and where we do not.
PupGrade’s own website lists 1,000 mg glucosamine and 1,000 mg MSM. Its Chewy listing shows a Supplement Facts panel with exactly half those numbers โ 500 mg and 500 mg โ labelled clearly as per chew. The brand’s page gives no per-chew or per-serving header at all, so there is no way to reconcile them from published information. If the dose matters to you, read the physical bottle before you rely on either figure.
Brand by brand
PupGrade Joint Support
Five actives, all itemized ยท $34.95 for 60 chews ยท roughly $1.17/day for a 50 lb dog
- Glucosamine HCl, MSM, green-lipped mussel, chondroitin sulfate and manganese gluconate โ all listed individually, no proprietary blend.
- Green-lipped mussel is the ingredient that sets it apart from the Zesty Paws formulas.
- States third-party testing for purity and potency, and GMP certification.
- PupGrade, LLC appears in the NASC member directory. We could not confirm from the directory whether it carries the audited Quality Seal, so treat that as unverified.
- The 2ร discrepancy above is the one real caution.
Pup Labs Freedom Joint Chews and Drops
No amounts published ยท $49.00 for 30 chews ยท roughly $4.90/day for a 50 lb dog
- The chews name turmeric, glucosamine HCl, rose hip, MSM and vitamin C. The drops name hyaluronic acid, MSM, vitamin B12, magnesium and plant flavonoids.
- Neither product publishes a milligram figure for a single ingredient. There is no Supplement Facts panel on either product page.
- This is a harder gap to work around than a proprietary blend โ a blend at least discloses a total you can compare.
- The drops are marketed as containing hyaluronic acid at “clinically proven levels” with no number attached to support that.
- Both products describe manufacture in an “NASC-approved” or “NASC-certified” facility. Pup Labs does not appear in the NASC member directory โ that phrasing describes the contract manufacturer’s audit status, not brand membership or entitlement to display the Quality Seal.
- At three chews a day for a 50 lb dog and 30 chews per container, this works out to roughly four times the daily cost of the others compared here.
Zesty Paws Vet Strength vs regular Mobility Bites
Vet Strength: every amount disclosed ยท $49.97 for 90 chews ยท roughly $1.11/day for a 50 lb dog
- Vet Strength itemizes all six actives: glucosamine 1,200 mg, OptiMSM 1,000 mg, eggshell membrane 376 mg, chondroitin 200 mg, hyaluronic acid 20 mg, proteases 14 mg โ per 2-chew serving.
- The regular Mobility Bites hides glucosamine, MSM, chondroitin and vitamin E inside a single 1,510 mg proprietary blend. Only the MSM is separately identified, at 500 mg.
- So the honest comparison between the two versions is narrow: on the one ingredient both disclose, Vet Strength has twice the MSM. Everything else is a comparison you cannot actually make.
- Zesty Paws is an audited NASC Primary Supplier and displays the Quality Seal.
- One thing to watch: the 1,200 mg glucosamine headline is per 2 chews, and 2 chews is only the correct dose for a 26โ75 lb dog. A 20 lb dog gets one chew, and half those numbers.
The per-chew trap
The single most common mistake in comparing joint supplements is reading a headline milligram number as if it applied to your dog. It usually applies to one weight band.
Every product here doses by body weight. Zesty Paws prints its panel per 2 chews, which is what a 26โ75 lb dog gets โ a small dog receives half of every number on that panel. PupGrade doses one chew per 25 lbs, so a 75 lb dog gets three times the printed per-chew amount. Before comparing two products, convert both to milligrams your dog actually receives per day. That is the only number that compares.
How to read any joint supplement label in four steps
- Find the serving size first, not the ingredient list. Every milligram figure on the panel is anchored to it. Then check the feeding chart for your dog’s weight โ the two are often different numbers.
- Check whether each active has its own amount. A single “proprietary blend” total tells you the sum but not the split, which means it cannot be compared to anything.
- Do the daily math. Amount per serving ร servings per day for your dog’s weight. Then divide the container price by the days it lasts at that rate.
- Look for an independent quality signal. The NASC Quality Seal is one worth checking for on any brand you compare โ but confirm the brand itself is a member, not just that its facility was audited.
The chondroitin question
Glucosamine is the cheapest of the joint actives. Chondroitin is the most expensive, often several times the cost per kilogram. That price gap shapes what ends up in a chew, and it is visible on the labels above.
Zesty Paws Vet Strength runs six parts glucosamine to one part chondroitin. PupGrade runs about three to one. Neither is hidden โ both brands print it โ but a headline that says “1,200 mg glucosamine” is naming the inexpensive half of the pair.
So when you compare, look at both numbers, and convert them to what your dog gets in a day.
How each formula splits the glucosamineโchondroitin pair
Share of the two ingredients in one serving. Glucosamine is the cheaper input; chondroitin the costlier one.
PupGrade figures use the per-chew panel published by its retailers; its own site states double both numbers, which does not change the ratio. Percentages are of these two ingredients only, not of the whole formula.
Where AdvancedPUP fits
We make a joint supplement, so treat this section as what it is. Here is our label, per 2-chew serving, with every amount printed:
Servings scale by weight: 2 chews up to 10 lbs, 3 chews for 11โ30 lbs, 4 chews for 31โ60 lbs, 5 chews for 61 lbs and up. Ninety chews for $34.98.
INGREDIENTS
Serving Size: 2 chews (4 g)
Servings Per Container: 45
| Proprietary Blend | 550 mg |
| Glucosamine | 300 mg |
| Chondroitin | 200 mg |
| MSM | 50 mg |
| Turmeric | 70 mg |
| Hemp Seed Meal | 50 mg |
| Hemp Cold Pressed Virgin Hemp Oil | 50 mg |
| Hyaluronic Acid | 2 mg |
Other Ingredients: Pea Flour, Rice Bran, Whey Powder, Sweet Potato, Potato Starch, Cultured Dextrose, Flaxseed Meal, Lecithin, Glycerin, Sunflower Oil, Molasses, Natural AOX, Natural Flavor
We formulate at roughly 1.5 parts glucosamine to 1 part chondroitin rather than loading the cheaper ingredient. For a small or medium dog, that works out to more chondroitin per day than either brand above:
Chondroitin delivered per day, by dog weight
Serving size at each weight band multiplied by the amount on the label. Bars share one scale.
10 lb dog
25 lb dog
50 lb dog
80 lb dog
Pup Labs is absent because it publishes no chondroitin amount. The same figures appear as a table below.
| Chondroitin per day | AdvancedPUP | Zesty Paws Vet Strength | PupGrade (retail panel) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 lb dog | 200 mg | 100 mg | 150 mg |
| 25 lb dog | 300 mg | 100 mg | 150 mg |
| 50 lb dog | 400 mg | 200 mg | 300 mg |
| 80 lb dog | 500 mg | 300 mg | 600 mg |
PupGrade figures use the per-chew Supplement Facts panel published by its retailers. PupGrade’s own website states double those amounts; as noted above, the two sources cannot both be right, and if the higher figures are correct PupGrade leads on chondroitin at every weight. The Zesty Paws comparison holds either way.
Two other things are ours alone among the products here. Turmeric โ 70 mg of 95% curcumin at 2 chews, 175 mg at 5 โ where neither Zesty Paws formula contains any and Pup Labs names turmeric without publishing an amount. And hemp seed meal with cold-pressed hemp oil, which none of the others carry.

About our own blend line
Fair question, since this page has criticised proprietary blends twice: our label does carry one. The difference is what sits under it. Our 550 mg line is a subtotal, and glucosamine 300 mg, chondroitin 200 mg and MSM 50 mg are printed underneath it โ three numbers that add to exactly 550, so you can check the arithmetic yourself. Zesty Paws’ regular Mobility Bites publishes a 1,510 mg blend with only the MSM identified, leaving 1,010 mg spread across three ingredients in amounts nobody outside the company knows. A blend you can decompose and a blend you cannot are different things, and the test is whether the components are printed.
Where we do not lead, plainly
- Glucosamine per day. Zesty Paws Vet Strength and PupGrade both deliver more. If glucosamine per dollar is your measure, they win.
- Hyaluronic acid. Zesty Paws Vet Strength has 20 mg per serving to our 2 mg โ ten times as much.
- Large dogs. Past about 60 lbs our advantage narrows and, on the retail panel figures, PupGrade passes us on chondroitin.
- Small-dog cost. A 10 lb dog runs about $0.78 a day on ours against roughly $0.56 on either Zesty Paws formula.
The short version: if you have a small or medium dog and you want the chondroitin side of the pair taken seriously, plus turmeric in the same chew, we are a strong fit. If you have a large dog and you are optimising glucosamine per dollar, buy PupGrade โ and either way, run the four steps above on us the same as on anyone else. Every number is on the label.
See the full label
Seven actives, every amount printed in milligrams โ including 200 mg of chondroitin per serving. Made in an NSF-Certified GMP facility and third-party tested, with a 60-Day Empty Bottle Guarantee.
View the Supplement Facts โCommon questions
Is PupGrade or Pup Labs better for joint support?
PupGrade publishes an amount for every active ingredient; Pup Labs publishes none. On the evidence each brand makes available, only PupGrade can be evaluated on dose at all.
How is Zesty Paws Vet Strength different from regular Mobility Bites?
Vet Strength itemizes all six actives and adds eggshell membrane, hyaluronic acid and proteases. The regular version puts four actives inside one 1,510 mg proprietary blend.
Why do Pup Labs Freedom Joint Chews cost more per day?
The container holds 30 chews and a 50 lb dog takes three a day, so it lasts about ten days. That works out near $4.90 daily at the $49.00 list price.
Does an NASC-approved facility mean the brand is NASC certified?
No. That phrasing describes where a product is made. Brand membership and the right to display the NASC Quality Seal are separate, and listed in the NASC member directory.
How much glucosamine does my dog need?
It depends on weight, age and your dog’s specific situation, so ask your vet for a target before comparing products. Then convert each label to milligrams per day at your dog’s weight.
Why do some brands have far more glucosamine than chondroitin?
Glucosamine costs considerably less per kilogram than chondroitin. Ratios of three or six to one are common, and both numbers are printed on the label if you look for the second one.
Which of these is best for a small dog?
On chondroitin per day, AdvancedPUP delivers more than either Zesty Paws or PupGrade at 10โ50 lbs. On glucosamine per day and on cost, Zesty Paws Vet Strength leads. Both figures are in the tables above.


